I Want to Drive a Station Wagon (guest blog: Sunny Wright)

It’s a busy little life being a Mom. It’s funny because even though I have been at this for 11 years, there is still a little voice inside me every now and then that sees something beautiful…something worldly….and I want it. Just like any normal person. It might be a beautiful car…or a necklace that is SOOO pretty and comes in a little blue Tiffany box just so everyone knows…it was expensive. Many times I just want the little things like the expensive jeans with the cool stitching and the boots to go with it. And then…I want to wear it all and go out to a fancy dinner with my fancy girlfriends and laugh without a care in the world while every one else in the restaurant sees what a glamorous fun life I have.

But those things go away quickly as soon as I get a sticky fingered hug and kiss from one of my little ones. They go away when I remember how much I love the feeling I get when I serve someone ELSE. Those silly desires disappear when I see someone so much less fortunate than myself and my divine nature kicks into overdrive with compassion. That selfishness goes away when I spend time with my husband and realize just how lucky I am to have someone who loves God, loves me, and loves our family. Those silly shallow desires go away when I hop into my “soccer mom” van stuffed full of kids and their eager giggles as we head to the pumpkin patch. Those wishes go away, when I read this quote (one of my favorites) by Marjorie Pay Hinckley:

“I don’t want to drive up to the pearly gates in a shiny sports car, wearing beautifully, tailored clothes, my hair expertly coiffed, and with long, perfectly manicured fingernails.
I want to drive up in a station wagon that has mud on the wheels from taking kids to scout camp.
I want to be there with a smudge of peanut butter on my shirt from making sandwiches for a sick neighbors children.
I want to be there with a little dirt under my fingernails from helping to weed someone’s garden.
I want to be there with children’s sticky kisses on my cheeks and the tears of a friend on my shoulder.
I want the Lord to know I was really here and that I really lived.”

This….is how I want to go. Because in the end….my family is what matters.

small

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

