Farewell To Preston….. Goodbye Buddy

On mission, I opened a package and there laid a funeral program for my friend Preston in June. I read it and I insistently began crying. It was hard for me because on a mission, I can’t have any contact with family and friends except via email and letters. So I didn’t even know that he had died till he did. I didn’t have the chance to go to his funeral or even say goodbye. Preston was 22 years old and died in a bad car accident. I have been struggling with letting and go and I feel that writing this blog for him will help me. As a missionary, we are to be strong and go to work. I love being a missionary and I love the work I am doing but it has been hard for me to just let it go. So instead of showing how his passing is progressing him the Plan of Salvation is benefiting, I want to use this post to say goodbye and show who Preston was to me. Preston and I were good friends in High School. He was always funny and I never saw him angry. He was patient and took the time to do things that he wanted. Preston was someone that I admired and looked up to. Preston always marched to a different drum and did things his own way. Preston was a good friend of mine. I could always count on him for a smile on those rough days. I could count on him for some witty funny remark. I was blessed to get him see him almost everyday when I moved back home. Preston worked at the local cookie bakery in Prosser. So I got the joy of buying cookies from him almost everyday. That was the perfect job for him. I think about Preston now more than I should. I know that this message that I share helps with dealing with a lost loved one. As of right now, I just want to say goodbye to my dear friend. I love you Preston, Thank you for every thing that you have done for me and thank you for being my friend. You will forever be in my heart. Image

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

