Love in Trials

As a senior in college I had to learn a lesson that was very hard for me to learn. That is, Heavenly Father loves and he has given us the bodies that we have as a blessing. As a senior in college, I was diagnosed with hip dysplasia. This is where I have bone on bone rubbing in my hip. It is very painful and it hurts me. I don’t like have any weaknesses at all, so I have never been fully happy with it. I have a hard time understanding the fact that my Heavenly Father really knows who am I and that he really loves me. He took my passion way, running. To me, running is my everything. It is how I relieve my stress, it is how I get through the tough times, it is how I unwind, and it how I get through each day. When I finally was told that I could never compete again, I realized that God still loved me. Looking back, I can see why God has given me this problem and that God was a part of all of this. For example, the day that I was diagnosed, the very first thing that I remember is the song Safe and Sound by Taylor Swift was played on the radio. When I actually took the time to listen to the lyrics, I realized that God was reaching out to me. He was telling me that I was going to be safe and that everything would work out. I have learned so much from this trial that I would have never realized that I could. As grateful as I am with it, I still don’t want it. I still struggle from time to time to see the benefit of it. I tell myself that life would be better if I just didn’t have it. For a while now, I haven’t been seeing the good things out of it. It has been giving me pain and I have been fighting through it. It gets me down from time to time. However, Heavenly Father has helped me once again. I read a conference talk from Elder Russel M. Nelson, of the 12, in titled Decisions for Eternity. This talk talks about how God has given us our bodies as a blessing. How each are unique in their own and even though they are not perfect that God is apart of blessing. Trials are given to us a way to draw us closer to our Heavenly Father. They they try our faith and allow us to see the Love that our Father has for us. That even though I am not perfect, God has given me his greatest blessing. I know that I will always struggle with this problem. I know that it will never fully be healed but my Heavenly Father knows who I am and he loves me. I know that he will always help me and even though I can’t do everything that I want to that my faith will grow and I will be blessed for this trial in ways that I don’t even know of it. I am grateful that we have a loving Heavenly Father.  So for now, I will just keep on doing what I do best, serving him, praying, and finding my balance of getting to run to different beat.

God’s Greatest Creation can be seen on this video that talks about Elder Russel M. Nelson

 

 

 

        13644_102467446437866_8150766_n

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

One response to “Love in Trials

Leave a Reply

