Our Greatest Title

On this earth, we have many callings and responsibilities to full fill. We take on many roles in this life: Runner, worker, boss, teacher, caregiver, and etc. There are many of these titles that make and shape into who we are. However, out of all the titles that we have, the greatest that we can take on is the title of Father, Mother, Husband, and Wife. The family is the greatest thing that we can have in this life. When we take on the responsibility of having children, we are allowing our selves to responsibility for one of our Heavenly Father’s child. It is a huge responsibility that we have that is sadly being taken lightly right now.  We are seeing that family values are being lost and families are not being together any more. That is why a family rooted into the Gospel of Jesus Christ is so vital. It is important that fathers and mothers take the time to teach their children the importance of the gospel and have that eternal perspective. One of the things that I love the most about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, is our importance of families and the fact that families can be together forever. In the temple, we can be sealed for all time and eternity to our family. The family is the greatest gift that our Heavenly Father has given us and we can’t take the responsibility too lightly. Recently, Heavenly Father has been teaching me the importance of having a family. I have never been one to want to have one but I see that on an eternal perspective, they are so vital. I look forward to the time that I get to have my own family.

Next to Jesus Christ, the greatest thing that the Lord has given us is our families. The family is ordained of God and is the most important social unit in this life and in eternity. Families that are centered in Christ will allow for greater love and apprentice towards one another. Also allowing more love, peace, joy, and happiness. Happiness and love cant be at its highest without the eternal perspective. When we see that families are can have the opportunity to be sealed together through the priesthood authority of God, we get more happiness in knowing that this joy will be forever. It becomes our greatest responsibility from God to protect and value our roles as mothers and fathers more important. God is allowing us to use this divine gift to help us grow and see the beauty of what God’s love is for us. We also are given the responsibility to make sure that our children get an opportunity to learn of the plan that the father has for us. “By divine design, fathers are to preside over their families in love and righteousness and are responsible for the necessities of life and protection for their families. Mothers are primarily responsible for the nurture of their children. In these sacred responsibilities, fathers and mothers are obligated to help one another as equal partners” (Ensign, Nov. 1995, 102). When it comes to families, it is an equal partnership: no one parent is responsible for all of the raising. Both parents play a part that needs to be played.

Growing up, I had a single mother. It was difficult in times. I can remember my mother having to work two jobs to make sure that everything would work out for us. This resulted in a lot of times where my mother was not there. I can remember having to be the last child picked up from the babysitter. Left wondering when she was going to be there. I can remember having to be tucked into bed by grandparents and  then being woken up in middle of the night to have my mother.  Just to say hello to us. I am very grateful for the sacrifices that she had to go through to help us out. However, having a single mother caused a void and loads of question to fester in my heart. I don’t know who my father is. I have no idea what he even looks like. Growing up, this was a hard thing to shallow. Instead of being grateful, I began to grow a hatred towards a man that I have never even met. Father’s Day became a day that I dreaded. There will always be questions that I can’t have an answer to and I am ok with that, because I understand the importance now of having two parents. I fully understand the importance of two parents in a child’s life. I may never have an earthly father but instead, I can be the father someday that I would have always wanted. More important, I have a loving Heavenly Father that wants us to live with him. So as parents, we have to rise up to the calling that the Lord has given us. Through the Savior’s Love, we can become the parents that we need to be. As we fulfill the plan that our Heavenly Father has for us, we will have the chance to have true happiness for eternity.

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

