Happiness in Harsh Weather

Its cold outside, Florida’s winter has begun. Which means a lot of
rain is upon us. Southern downpours are no laughing matters. They are
massive and usually never stop. Coldness usually puts me in a negative
mood. I hate being cold, however, joy can be found through our work.
Elder Collins and I get to find true happiness among all of this
bitterness outside. Its in teaching. Its in the laughter in the car
rides from one place to another. Its in amazing people that we get to
meet on a day to day basis. We get the joy of doing one of the hardest
things of all time: sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ. Yesterday, joy
was found in a ten year old boy: Caline. A boy who has experienced so
much hardship in his life already. One who I secretly pray will be
outside playing whenever we are on his street because my heart goes
out to him. A ten year old who just wants to be happy and have a
better life. Yesterday, Elder Collins and I got the joy of seeing him.
To calm him down from a bad day at school. We started contacting
another man and Caline just came out running to us like he was the
luckiest kid ever. He has the biggest smile on his face as he yells
Mr. Frazier, Mr. Frazier. He always seems to amazes me on how grateful
he is just to talk to us for ten minutes. A boy just wanting to be
loved. I chuckle when he says he has lost his Book of Mormon in his
bedroom. It’s there, just not sure where. If it’s anything like my
room at age ten, then it’ll be found under a pile of clothes,toys, or
a combination of the two. He is a boy that just needs someone to
listen to him. To give a few minutes to let him be heard. Its hard
because I want to, so bad, just have the chance to teach him
everything cause I know he’ll understand. In fact he can tell you all
about Joseph Smith. He knows who is, what he did, and why he is so
important. So instead, we found joy in just letting him know that God
loves him, even in the hardships and he does. There isn’t a person on
the this earth that God doesn’t love. In these cold, nasty days, I get
the joy of finding true happiness in the work I am doing. Like Caline,
life is good, so very good. I know that my happiness is only found
because I am able to serve others and my Savior.

“If you are humble and obedient and hearken to the voice of the
Spirit, you will find great happiness in your service as a
missionary.” (Called of Him to Declare His Word, Elder Randy D. Funk)

Image

Image

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

