Change for the better (Goodbye Arlington, Hello Hendricks)

In life, there are times where things seem so final. Where we come to the end of a project and it is done. For example, high school graduation. After one walks across that stage and throws their hat in the air, it is done. There will never be that opportunity again. A feeling of completion takes hold and one knows that he or she will never be walking through those doors again with the same purpose or feel. A new change begins as that individual takes on the challenges that life brings to them. As a missionary, I have experienced this feeling of completion multiple times. Recently, I was transferred out of Arlington to Hendricks Ave. As change as taken place, the feeling of finalization took place as I closed a stage of my life. I am grateful for the blessing that I received to be a part of such an amazing place. It was a bit sad to say goodbye to what was my life for a period of time. However, I move forward in faith as I know this change is for the better. Change is essential for our progression. We can not grow if we do not have change. With each new phase, we get the opportunity to grow. We learn new insights about ourselves that we never thought we could know. More importantly, change allows us to grow closer to our Heavenly Father. As we put our trust in him, we get to see the purpose in all things. We get a glimpse of divine purpose, of who we really are.

In my early college days, I use to reject change. I use to hate the thought of new things. I was happy with the way things were and yet I was content. However, I realized that change was needed. I was holding myself back from getting to experience the fullness that change brings with it. Now, I love change. I love the things that change brings with it. It’s like a fresh start each time. Change came to me at a time that I needed it the most. As I move forward in this new area with a new companion, I realize I don’t know what is going to be brought my way. I don’t know what good or bad experiences are in store for me. However, I do know that the Lord has a purpose. That there is a reason for this change. I trust my Heavenly Father will be there with me every step of the way. I embrace this change and hope for the adventures. I look forward to the struggles that will present themselves to me, to help me become a better disciple of Jesus Christ, now and forever. As we go forward in faith, we must accept the change that is given to us. We must acknowledge the love that our Heavenly Father has for us and continue to hold fast to the trust we have in. All things are possible through the Lord. Embrace the change that comes your way.

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

