My Plan to Change the World

I strongly feel that I have two major purposes in this life. One is to
be my sister’s keeper. I am here to look after my little Hailey. To
keep her protected. The second is to change the world. To make this
place a better place than it once was.

In middle school, my history teacher asked us all to make a life goal.
He asked us to ponder on what we wanted our life to be. He proposed
the question of if you could look back at your life when you die, what
one major thing do you to accomplish? Never has a question caused me
to put so much thought and perception in. As we met the following day,
I waited as everyone else took their time to share their answer to the
class. There were many that expressed they wanted to be successful
with lots of money. Others expressed things that dealt with a happy
family. As it became my turn, I stood up and gave my answer: I want to
change the world! Many of my peers began to laugh and ridicule me as
they felt my answer was a joke or unattainable. However, ever since
that day, that has been a driving factor for my life. I want to change
the world! Every thing I have done has been centered on that right
there. Many people to this day still tell me that I am never going to
do such a thing but sadly they don’t realize their lack of faith in me
is a motivation. Many of my friends have come to see my true desire
and have begun to encourage me more to do just that.

As a sophomore in college, my friend Cullen proposed another question
to me: how are you going to do it? That was one question I had never
given much thought to. I had been doing things to help many people but
never did I ever given thought to the plans of going about this goal.
Being in a Catholic college, I was blessed to have the privilege of
being in a religious class. Usually, those classes bored me and I
never paid any attention in them. However, that day, my professor had
us read Matthew 22: 39. “…. Thou shalt love thy neighbour as
thyself.” It hit me that that was how I was going to change the world.
To pay it forward. This world is lacking the love that everyone so
depressingly needs. Plan number one was drawn, to love everyone. To
see others for who they really are and not for how the world sees
them. To give them the unconditional love that their father in heaven
has given. To view people for who they can become and not for who they
are.

As a senior in college, I was feeling very content with myself. I felt
myself lacking much drive. So I named my senior year Humanitarian
Year. I planned to serve others as much as possible and to have at
least one major service project each month. I did all sorts of things
that year: soup kitchens, reading to under privilege children,
building homes in New Orleans for Katrina victims, coaching for the
Special Olympics, Habitat for Humanity, and the list goes on. This
year of service helped me realize my second plan: do service for all.
My heart began to grow deeper as I realized that we need to do our
part to help others. The savior was the greatest example as he gave
serve to all, regardless of who they are. We need to give a little
love if we want to get a little love of our own. The golden rule
always sticks out in heart, “do unto others as you would have the do
unto you.” The greatest way we can show are love for others is to
serve them. When we give service, the world becomes a little bit
better.

After college, I was lost and lacked the direction that I needed in
life. I didn’t know what I wanted and their was a component in my life
that was lacking. I had failed to build up the spiritual aspect of
life. I had failed to give credit to the person that had given me so
much. Coming on my mission, I realized my third plan: to bring others
unto Christ. The greatest blessing one can have is to have a
relationship with their Heavenly Father. As we bring others to Christ,
we are giving them the best thing ever. We are allowing for others to
receive the true happiness, joy, and peace they could ever experience
in this life. Christ has the power to heal all things. We all need to
build that trust in our Savior. As more turn to their creator, their
will be much more love in this world. I realize how important the
worth of souls is to our father. The world needs Christ in order for
it to be changed. Part of coming unto Christ is more than just going
to church each week and saying that you are saved. Rather, its being
able to live your life the way Christ lived his. When we come unto
Christ, we covent with The Lord that we will abide by his precepts and
be a representative of Christ. In order to represent him, we must live
the same way he lived. We need to be humble, meek, submissive, lovely
in heart, willing to mourn with those that mourn, kind, gentle,
loving, and the list goes on. We need to be god fearing people.

I am still creating more plans for how I will change the world. I
realize that it is a gradual process but if we can all do our part,
this world will become a better place. Let us all learn to love
others, to serve others, and bring others unto Christ. Help me change
the world! Help me make this place a better place to live in. As I
have applied these principles, I have seen so much more joy and peace
in others. I know that this place and truly have world peace through
the savior.

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

