What is Love?

What is Love?

Love, what is this thing that everyone so yearns for? What is this thing that the world needs more of? Everyone is always talking about how they look so hard to find it, and then when they have, they loose it. Does anyone truly know what this thing is?

I began today in a rather different turn than usual. Instead of diving straight into the Book of Mormon, I turned to the topical guide in my bible. There lies a page with the word love on the top. In fact this word appears 217 times in the bible and 41 times in the Book of Mormon. I feel like this word is rather important to say the least. Good old Webster told me that it is “an intense feeling of deep affection.” This made me think of the worldly aspect of love. The love we all wanted to have in high school. The love that is not really love at all but rather is more lust.

Jesus Christ taught that the greatest commandment is to “love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. And the second is to love thy neighbor as thyself” ( Matthew 22:36-39). We have been told that we must love with all our heart, soul, and mind. I read this as we need to show a deep connection and intense feeling with everything we have towards God and everyone else.

I feel that true love can be defined in the Book of Mormon, and I’m not talking about that love we all thought we had and felt in high school, rather true love that others can see. In Moroni 7:47, it reads, “charity is the pure love of Christ, and it endureth forever…” Charity is when we are willing to help those in need. It’s when we show a kindness and tolerance towards others. It is when we give up of our self to give others the chance to have better. Jesus Christ was the best example of this. He allowed himself to give everything he had for the sake of mankind. He died so man can live. This is true love. Looking on the other aspect, God showed his charity to his children by allowing Jesus Christ to die. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). God loved us so much that he gave the greatest thing to all mankind so we could all live with him again.

Love is when we give up ourselves or the thinks that our precious for us so that we can better someone else’s life. Love is sacrifice. My mom is truly an amazing example of this. The love that she has shown me in my life is incredible. She gave up everything she had to make sure her kids were taken care of. She worked two jobs and sacrificed time for me and my sisters. She put so many things on hold because she wanted to make sure her children’s needs were met. Growing up, I felt she didn’t have time for us because I didn’t understand. I didn’t realize that the reason she couldn’t make my soccer game is because she was working harder so I could play soccer. She was working so I could have chances and blessings in life. The many sacrifices she made was pure love.

Many of us feel that we must find love. Some will spend their whole life searching for it and never find it. To these people, I say they are wrong. One must first give a little love in order to gain a little love. Love will find us, we can’t go searching for it. Through our efforts of helping others and living a Christ like life, we can find the love that we all yearn to have in our life. We will find a love that will be eternal.

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

