Provo Love Song

The town of Provo is a very interesting place. It has two of just about everything. There are two temples, two colleges, two canyons, two all-star apartment complexes, two Sodaliciouses, and the list goes on. Its the place to find things. Many come to find their future spouse, to find themselves, to find God, to find a new life, and again the list goes on and on. Its been my home for just over a year now, which is weird to think because time has gone by fast. I like to think as this place as the dating capital because people really live the American Country Love Song here. There are many boys who are trying to find and run away with girls’ hearts. There is always one more kiss before dropping her off at the door. Same old pickup lines get used every day and after three months of dating, he will get down on one knee.

Like others, my Provo experience has been full of ups and downs. I moved here swallowing my pride as I told myself that I would never live in Utah in a million years. However, I found myself packing my bags and unlocking an apartment on the south-side of campus. I spent six months convinced it was the worst place on the whole planet. I thought this place couldn’t get any worse and then something would happen that would top the next worse experience. I thought every person was either rude or weird. It was freezing cold and my beanie collection had me sticking out hard.

However, after six months of living here, I choose to change my attitude. I was humbled by the words of Jacob in the Book of Mormon; which taught me that there is no such thing as a bad area in the Lord’s vineyard. Jacob taught me that the worst area could bring forth the most fruit as long as the servant went to work.  So I rolled up my sleeves and went to work. I found myself giving service to everyone around me. I found myself investing myself in everything that Provo had to offer. I strengthen my friendships. I actually started living the American Country Love Song life. I found love and lost love a few times.

After a year of living in Provo, I’m convinced that it’s the greatest place ever. Its truly a place where what you put in is what you get out. So many people move there and hate it. Grant it, there are some weird and marriage hungry people here but for the most part, the people are the best. Its full of many opportunities that are just waiting to be grasped. It truly is the most blessed place on earth. The football team might need some help but I’m loving every aspect of Provo. Provo has become such a sacred place in my heart. One that I cherish deeply and am always excited for it throws at me. I’m truly living the dream and am blessed. I have the best job, best roommates, best program in school, best adventures, best temple, and again the list goes on and on. I truly love Provo, Utah!

 

1238149_219807028205005_2081784870_n

About rileyfrazier

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am currently in the Florida Jacksonville Mission. Being a missionary has been a huge blessing for me and I am grateful to have the chance to share a message about Jesus Christ to others. I am from Washington State and I went to college in Montana. I was blessed with the privilege of being a college athlete in Cross Country and Track and Field. Running is my favorite thing to do. I am bit of hipster and like to have a loud crazy life. View all posts by rileyfrazier

Leave a Reply

